health professional holding a patient's hand

The Department of Supportive Care is made up of three divisions:

  1. Psychosocial Oncology
    • Psychosocial oncology is a specialty in cancer care focused on the impact of cancer upon the whole person including the social, psychological, emotional, spiritual and functional aspects of the illness experience.
    • This division provides direct care for the moderate to severe psychosocial distress and needs of the patients and their families who have cancer related distress or psychosocial issues. It supports the Princess Margaret oncology teams in managing mild psychosocial distress and needs at the point of care.
  2. Palliative Care
    • Palliative Care refers to physical, psychosocial and spiritual care that is provided as early as possible in the course of an incurable or life-threatening disease.
    • This division provides consult services for patients in ambulatory as well as inpatient units. The focus is to support pain and symptom management, early palliative care, advance care planning and end of life care.
  3. Cancer Rehabilitation & Survivorship
    • Cancer Rehabilitation & Survivorship is about living, surviving and having the best quality of life possible.
    • The program provides patients and family members with the information and clinical support they need.

We are dedicated to assisting those who are affected by cancer by providing programs and services that focus on addressing the physical, emotional, psychological and social needs throughout the cancer journey; from diagnosis through to survivorship and followup phases.

Together, we are committed to achieving our vision of being a local, national and international centre of excellence in clinical care, research and education in supportive care.

Last reviewed: 6/27/2022
Last modified: 6/11/2024 11:14 AM
Back to Top