headshot of Dr. terBrugge
Neuroradiologist Dr. Karel terBrugge, described as someone recognized locally, nationally and internationally as “THE leader in the field,” received the 2016 UHN Global Impact Award at Wednesday’s Annual General Meeting. (Photo: UHN)​

Dr. Karel terBrugge, former Head of the Division of Neuroradiology and Site Chief of Medical Imaging at Toronto Western Hospital (TWH), is the recipient of the 2016 UHN Global Impact Award.

The award, which honours UHN staff who have changed the world of health and healthcare, recognizes Dr. terBrugge for innovation as a clinician and training as an educator in the field of interventional neuroradiology.

One of his nominators said Dr. terBrugge, "has had a long and productive career as an innovator in the face of high risk clinical situations, is recognized locally, nationally and internationally as THE leader in the field...and has trained countless professionals."

Dr. terBrugge joins 19 other recipients who have been recognized since the award was first given in 2004, including Dr. Frederick Banting, Mary Agnes Snively and Dr. Charles Tator.

Related to this story

Born in the Netherlands, Dr. terBrugge went to medical school at the University of Utrecht. He obtained his speciality training in radiology at the University of Toronto (U of T) and his Fellowship training in Neuroradiology at the Montreal Neurological Institute at McGill University.

Began at Toronto Western Hospital 40 years ago

Dr. terBrugge joined TWH as a neurologist in 1976 and developed a multidisciplinary program in Interventional Neuroradiology at the U of T in 1984. Subsequently, the Diagnostic and Interventional Neuroradiology programs at TWH have gained an international reputation.

A Professor of Radiology & Surgery at the U of T, Dr. terBrugge was Head of the Division of Neuroradiology at U of T and the Joint Department of Medical Imaging (JDMI) at UHN, Women's College and Sinai Health System. After stepping down from his role with JDMI last December, he continues to teach and train neurointerventional therapists around the world.

Dr. terBrugge has more than 300 publications in scientific journals and chapters in books and has been a leader of national and international associations and conferences in his field.

The names, photos and citations of UHN Global Impact Award recipients are posted in our hospital lobbies. Previous winners are:

2004 – Frederick Banting, Vera Peters, Harold Johns

2005 – William Bigelow, Ernest McCulloch, Jim Till

2006 – William Gallie

2007 – Joel Cooper, Griff Pearson

2008 – Charles Hollenberg, Bernard Langer,

2009 – Mary Agnes Snively

2010 – Robert Jackson

2011 – Charles Tator

2012 – Dimitrios Oreopoulos, Robert Uldall

2013 – Victor Ling

2014 – Alan Hudson

2015 – Jenny Heathcote​

Back to Top