Transplant Fellowship Research Awards
2022 Transplant Fellowship Competition winners, (L to R), Samrat Ray, Laura Walti, Javier Solera Rallo, Sofia Farkona, Kentaro Minegishi, Olivia Mekhael, Marco Claasen, Roni Bitterman. (Image UHN)

Congratulations to the winners of the 2022 Transplant Fellowship Competition. The Ajmera Transplant Centre received exceptional project proposals this year. These proposals were peer-reviewed and scored by researchers at the Centre. The eight best-rated projects were awarded:

  • Laura Walti, Clinical Fellow, supervised by Shahid Husain: "The Role of Urease-Producing Bacteria in Hyperammonemia after Lung Transplantation"
  • Samrat Ray, Post Doctoral Research Fellow, supervised by Trevor Reichman: "Expanding the transplant pancreas donor using a porcine normothermic ex vivo perfusion model"
  • Olivia Mekhael, Post Doctoral Research Fellow, supervised by Tereza Martinu: "Assessment of epithelial cell death in airway brushings from lung transplant recipients (LTRs) with and without chronic lung allograft dysfunction (CLAD)"
  • Javier Tomas Solera Rallo, Clinical Fellow, supervised by Deepali Kumar: "Severity Of Covid-19 Omicron Variant And Omicron-Specific Immune Responses In Solid Organ Transplant Patients: A Prospective Cohort Study"
  • Sofia Farkona, Post Doctoral Research Fellow, supervised by Ana Konvalinka: "How does anti-Human Leukocyte Antigen class I antibody signal in human glomerular endothelial cells to increase LGALS1 expression"
  • Kentaro Minegishi, Post Doctoral Research Fellow, supervised by Shinichiro Ogawa: "Enabling the sustained graft survival after the implantation of engineered vascularized liver tissue from human pluripotent stem cells"
  • Roni Bitterman, Research Fellow, supervised by Sasan Hosseini: "Epidemiology and Trends of Laboratory-Proven Invasive Fungal Infection in Recipients of Organ Allografts in Ontario 2002-2020"
  • Marco Claasen, Research Fellow, supervised by Gonzalo Sapisochin: "Transplant Oncology in the setting of Intrahepatic Cholangiocarcinoma and Combined Hepatocellular-Cholangiocarcinoma. Reassessment of transplant outcomes according to the new histopathological classification."​

Grissel Crasto
UHN nurses (L to R) Nikki Marks, Kelvin Mak, Irene Li, Maria Tanguilig and Rana Jin. (Image: UHN)

Congratulations to UHN Nurses recognized by Hospital News with a Nursing Heroes Award.

The yearly award recognizes individuals across Canada for outstanding nursing.

There were several nominations for the award across UHN, and we are proud to see winners from different programs and sites:

  • Nikki Marks, nurse practitioner (NP), Toronto Lung Transplant Program at the Ajmera Transplant Centre
  • Kelvin Mak, NP, Sprott Department of Surgery
  • Irene Li, Clinical Research Coordinator, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre
  • Maria Tanguilig, registered practical nurse, Toronto Rehab
  • Rana Jin, registered nurse, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

You can also read the full stories about the winners in Hospital News' May Issue (pages 19-48).

Back to Top