ALERT CONTENT PLACEHOLDER

Department of Supportive Care – Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

Norma D'Agostino, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: norma.d'agostino@uhn.ca

  • Population: adult survivors of childhood cancer; young adult cancer survivors
  • Clinical Assessments: psychosocial functioning; distress screening
  • Clinical Intervention: individual psychotherapy
  • Research: impact of late effects of cancer and cancer treatment on psychosocial development; transition from pediatric to adult health care; quality of life

Andrew Matthew, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: andrew.matthew@uhn.ca

  • Population: urologic cancers: prostate, testicular, kidney, bladder cancer patients
  • Clinical Assessments: health psychological assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: individual psychotherapy; couple therapy; sex therapy
  • Research: health-related quality of life and survivorship in cancer patients

Rinat Nissim, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: rinat.nissim@uhn.ca

  • Population: adults with cancer and their family members
  • Clinical Assessments: health psychological assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: individual psychotherapy; couple therapy
  • Research: psychosocial oncology interventions for cancer patients and their family caregivers

Kim Edelstein, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: kim.edelstein@uhn.ca

  • Population: brain tumour patients; adult survivors of childhood cancer; young adult cancer survivors
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: education; recommendations/strategies
  • Research: neurocognitive outcomes in cancer survivors; late effects of cancer treatment on neurocognitive function; circadian rhythms and cancer

Lori Bernstein, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: lori.bernstein@uhn.ca

  • Population: adult cancer patients (outpatient) and survivors
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments
  • Clinical Interventions: patient and caregiver support & education; recommendations and self-management strategies to optimize function
  • Research: neurocognitive outcomes in cancer patients and survivors; impact of life style factors and self-management strategies on cognitive function and quality of life
back to top icon 

Cardiology – Toronto General Hospital

Robert Nolan, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: rnolan@uhnres.utoronto.ca

  • Population: adult patients with cardiovascular conditions
  • Clinical Assessments: psycho-physiologic tests (e.g., vagal-heart rate modulation and baroreflex sensitivity) during reactivity/recovery from mild-to-moderate psychological and physical stressors; cognitive-emotional adjustment to cardiovascular disease; quality of life; and lifestyle behaviours
  • Clinical Intervention: individual, group and e-health in the context of the health psychology/behavioural cardiology clinical service. Treatment modalities include cognitive-behavioural therapy, motivational interviewing, and biofeedback.
  • Research: (i) Efficacy of Behavioural Neurocardiac Training with vagal-heart rate biofeedback for patients with hypertension or chronic heart failure; (ii) cardiovascular reactivity/recovery following physical or psychological tasks; (iii) e-counselling to augment risk reduction for cardiovascular disease
back to top icon 

Transitional Pain Service, Department of Anesthesia and Pain Management – Toronto General Hospital

Aliza Weinrib, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: aliza.weinrib@uhn.ca

Max Slepian, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: maxwell.slepian@uhn.ca

Valery Kleiman, DiplPsych, CPsych - Psychologist

Email: valery.kleiman@uhn.ca

  • Population: adults undergoing major surgery who are at risk of complex and persistent pain
  • Clinical Assessments: risk factors for chronic pain, pain coping and functioning
  • Clinical Intervention: psychoeducation, inpatient consults, individual psychotherapy, and group workshops
  • Research: impact of behavioural interventions on pain trajectory after surgery
back to top icon 

GoodHope Ehlers Danlos Syndrome Program – Toronto General Hospital

Aliza Weinrib, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: aliza.weinrib@uhn.ca

Max Slepian, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: maxwell.slepian@uhn.ca

Molly McCarthy, PhD, CPsych (Supervised Practice) – Psychologist

Email: molly.mccarthy@uhn.ca

  • Population: Adults diagnosed with Ehlers Danlos Syndromes (EDS) or Hypermobility Spectrum Disorder (HSD)
  • Clinical Assessments: health psychological assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: psychoeducation, individual psychotherapy, group workshops and psychotherapy, and consultation/liaison with multidisciplinary team
  • Research: Psychosocial features of EDS/HSD; Health-related quality of life in EDS/HSD; Impact of behavioural interventions on quality of life and symptom management
back to top icon 

Eating Disorder Program, Centre for Mental Health – Toronto General Hospital

Kathryn Trottier, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist and Clinical Program Lead

Email: kathryn.trottier@uhn.ca

Danielle MacDonald, PhD, CPsych - Psychologist

Email: danielle.macdonald@uhn.ca

Michelle Mahan, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: michelle.mahan@uhn.ca

Rachel Liebman, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: rachel.liebman@uhn.ca

  • Population: Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia Nervosa, Other Specified Feeding or Eating Disorders, and comorbidities including Anxiety Disorders, Mood Disorders, Substance Use Disorders, Posttraumatic Stress Disorder, Obsessive Compulsive Disorder, and Personality Disorders
  • Clinical Assessments: clinical interviewing and diagnostic assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: intensive cognitive behaviour therapy (CBT)-based treatment for eating disorders, including inpatient and intensive outpatient treatment and a follow-up program; group and individual therapy
  • Research: etiology and maintenance of eating disorders, treatment efficacy and effectiveness, prediction of relapse, relapse prevention, co-occurrence of eating disorders and posttraumatic stress disorder
back to top icon 

Tourette Syndrome Neurodevelopmental Clinic, Neuropsychiatry – Toronto Western Hospital

Jennifer Stanga, PhD, CPsych

Email: jennifer.stanga@uhn.ca

Jody Levenbach, PhD, CPsych

Email: jody.levenbach@uhn.ca

  • Population: children, adolescents, & adults with Tourette syndrome and its comorbidities (e.g., OCD, ADHD, Autism Spectrum Disorders)
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments
  • Clinical Intervention: psycho-education; school consultation
  • Research: neuropsychological characteristics of individuals with TS and comorbid conditions, particularly executive functioning
  • back to top icon 

    Community Mental Health and Addictions Program – Toronto Western Hospital

    Alicia Sorkin, DPsych, CPsych

    Email: aliciaaraujo.sorkin@uhn.ca

    • Population: adult psychiatric outpatients suffering from mood and anxiety disorders, sleep and/or substance abuse; patients suffering from stress related problems related to immigration/adaptation issues
    • Clinical Assessments: understanding underlying issues related to presenting problems and developing appropriate treatment plans
    • Clinical Intervention: short term individual and group treatments including open-ended CBT groups in English and Spanish
    back to top icon 

    Bariatric Surgery Department – Toronto Western Hospital

    Sarah Royal, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

    Email: sarah.royal@uhn.ca

    Susan Wnuk, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

    Email: susan.wnuk@uhn.ca

    Chau Du, MSc, RP – Psychometrist & Psychotherapist

    Email: chau.du@uhn.ca

    • Population: Pre and post bariatric surgery patients
    • Clinical Assessments: semi-structured psycho-diagnostic assessments to assess readiness for surgery and post-operative adjustment to surgery
    • Clinical Interventions: a patient support group; various behavioural group interventions; individual psychotherapy
    • Research: predictors and influencers of surgical outcomes and adjustment to surgery; impact of psychosocial interventions on surgical outcomes
    back to top icon 

    Comprehensive Integrated Pain Program – Toronto Western Hospital

    Katy (Kathryn) Curtis, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

    Email: kathryn.curtis@uhn.ca

    • Population: adults with chronic pain and candidates for Ketamine Infusion, Spinal Cord Stimulation or major surgery
    • Clinical Assessments: psychodiagnostic assessments for suitability for medical interventions
    • Clinical Intervention: psychoeducation and therapy groups, and individual psychotherapy (ACT, mindfulness, self-compassion, cognitive processing therapy)
    • Research: Mind-body interventions (e.g., yoga, mindfulness) for chronic pain, and psychological factors in a peri-surgical context
    back to top icon 

    Neuropsychology Clinic, Krembil Brain Institute – Toronto Western Hospital

    Mary Pat McAndrews, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist, Director

    Email: marypat.mcandrews@uhn.ca

    Melanie Cohn, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

    Email: melanie.cohn@uhn.ca

    David Gold, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

    Email: david.gold@uhn.ca

    Marta Statucka, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist (on parental leave until 09/2021)

    Email: marta.statucka@uhn.ca

    Rachel Leung, PhD, CPsych - Psychologist

    Email: rachel.leung@uhn.ca

    Dora Ladowski, PhD, CPsych

    Email: dora.ladowski@uhn.ca

    Matthew Bernstein, PhD, CPsych (Supervised Practice)

    Email: matthew.bernstein@uhn.ca

    Mary Jaciw – Psychometrist

    Email: mary.jaciw@uhn.ca

    Taisha Chang – Psychometrist

    Email: taisha.chang@uhn.ca

    Rebecca Simpson – Psychometrist

    Email: rebecca.simpson@uhn.ca

    Amanda Augustus - Neuropsychology Administrative Assistant

    Email: amanda.augustus@uhn.ca

    • Population: neurology/neurosurgery (e.g., epilepsy, neurodegenerative and neurovascular disorders, concussion); primarily outpatients
    • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments and functional neuroimaging (for select surgical cases)
    • Clinical Interventions: recommendations; assessment of suitability for neurosurgery
    • Research: impact of neurological disorders and neurosurgical treatment on memory, language and executive functions; functional and structural neuroimaging in neurocognitive disorders, influence of cultural diversity on neuropsychological tools
    back to top icon 

    Neuropsychology – Toronto Rehab – Rumsey Site

    Lesley Ruttan, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

    Email: lesley.ruttan@uhn.ca

    Julie Mindel – Psychometrist

    Email: julie.mindel@uhn.ca

    • Population: adult outpatients with a wide range of acquired brain injuries (ABI) (e.g., multiple sclerosis, stroke and ABI streams)
    • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments, comorbid psychological/psychiatric disorders
    • Clinical Interventions: feedback to patients and family, treatment recommendations, psychoeducation
    back to top icon 

    Neuropsychology, Day Hospital – Toronto Rehab – University Site

    Paul Comper, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

    Email: paul.comper@uhn.ca

    Gary Gerber, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

    Email: gary.gerber@uhn.ca

    Joan Vernon – Psychometrist

    Email: joan.vernon@uhn.ca

    Sigrid Grasshoff – Psychometrist

    Email: sigrid.grasshoff@uhn.ca

    Sara Altimari – Behaviour Therapist

    Email: sara.altimari@uhn.ca

    • Population: acquired brain injury - outpatients
    • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments
    • Clinical Interventions: feedback to patients and family, treatment recommendations, education
    back to top icon 

    Cardiac Rehab – Toronto Rehab - Rumsey Site

    Jaan Reitav, PhD, CPsych, CBSM, DBSM – Psychologist

    Email: jaan.reitav@uhn.ca

    • Population: adult patients with cardiovascular conditions, diabetes, stroke and breast cancer
    • Clinical Assessments: psychosocial functioning, comorbid psychiatric disorders, cognitive-emotional adjustment to cardiovascular disease; and lifestyle behaviours, quality of life
    • Clinical Interventions: individual and group treatment
    • Program Evaluation and Research: Efficacy of a Stress Reduction Program in improving distress among outpatients with chronic medical conditions
    back to top icon 

    Spinal Cord Rehab – Toronto Rehab – Lyndhurst Site

    Martha McKay, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist/Neuropsychologist

    Email: martha.mckay@uhn.ca

    Christie Yao, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist/Neuropsychologist

    Email: christie.yao2@uhn.ca

    • Population: spinal cord injury patients – inpatient and outpatient
    • Clinical Assessments: clinical psychological and neuropsychological assessments
    • Clinical Interventions: individual and group therapy, behavioural medicine; cognitive behavioural intervention, supportive counselling, cognitive remediation
    • Jessica Grummitt, MSc – Psychometrist

      Email: jessica.grummitt@uhn.ca

      back to top icon 

      Research – Toronto Rehab – University Site

      Robin Green, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist/Research Scientist

      Email: robin.green@uhn.ca

      Brenda Colella, MA, CPsych Assoc – Psychological Associate

      Email: brenda.colella@uhn.ca

      Liesel-Ann Meusel, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

      Email: liesel-ann.meusel@uhn.ca

      Greg Noack – Rehab Therapist

      Email: greg.noack@uhn.ca

      • Areas of Focus: Neuropsychology, Mild-Severe TBI, Sub-acute neurodegeneration post TBI, Post-recovery cognitive decline, Development of interventions to minimize decline
      back to top icon