Order of Canada Logo
The iconic snowflake insignia is awarded to Order of Canada recipients. In the year-end announcement by Governor General Julie Payette on Wednesday, Dr. Susan George, Dr. Michael Jewett and Dr. Heather Ross were appointed Members of the Order. (Photo: Government of Canada)

Three UHN physicians have received one of Canada's highest civilian honours. 

Drs. Susan George, Michael Jewett and Heather Ross were among 61 new appointments to the Order of Canada by the Governor General on Wednesday. 

Dr. George, a clinical endocrinologist at Toronto General Hospital, Senior Scientist at the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health, and a Professor of Pharmacology and Toxicology in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine at University of Toronto (U of T) was recognized “for her pioneering contributions to the fields of molecular pharmacology and neuroendocrinology.” 

Dr. Jewett, a longtime surgical oncologist at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and UHN’s Sprott Department of Surgery, and a Professor of Urology in the Department of Surgery in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine at the U of T, was recognized “for his life-saving innovations in surgical oncology and for his advocacy of patient-centred clinical care.” 

Dr. Ross, Division Head of Cardiology at UHN’s Peter Munk Cardiac Centre, Scientific Lead at the Ted Rogers Centre for Heart Research, and Professor in the Temerty Faculty of Medicine at U of T, was recognized “for her contributions to Canadian cardiac care as a clinician, translational researcher and field leader.” 

Each recipient will be invited to accept their insignia at a ceremony at a later date. 

The Order of Canada recognizes outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. Close to 7,000 people from all sectors of society have been invested into the Order since its creation in 1967.  

Full list of the 61 new appointments

Back to Top