Image of UHN researchers awarded
(Clockwise from top left) UHN researchers Drs. Angela Cheung, Myron Cybulsky, Daniel Winer and Donald Weaver have each been awarded a new Canada Research Chair. (Photos: UHN)​

​Four UHN researchers are among those awarded new Canada Research Chairs.

They are:

  • Dr. Angela Cheung – Tier 1 CRC in Musculoskeletal and Postmenopausal Health
  • Dr. Myron Cybulsky – Tier 1 CRC in Arterial Wall Biology and Atherogenesis
  • Dr. Donald Weaver – Tier 1 CRC in Drug Design for Protein Misfolding Disorders
  • Dr. Daniel Winer – Tier 2 CRC in Immunometabolism

The four new Canada Research Chairs from UHN are among 34 awarded to the University of Toronto.

Four other UHN researchers had their appointments renewed. They are:

  • Dr. Robin Green – Tier 2 CRC in Traumatic Brain Injury – Cognitive Rehabilitation Neuroscience
  • Dr. Kevin Kain – Tier 1 CRC in Molecular Parasitology
  • Dr. Pamela Ohashi – Tier 1 CRC in Tumour Immunity and Immunotherapy
  • Dr. Antonio Strafella – Tier 2 CRC in Immunometabolism

A total of 305 new and renewed Canada Research Chairs were appointed to 53 postsecondary institutions across Canada by Federal Minister of Science Kirsty Duncan earlier this week.

The Canada Research Chair program, which was launched in 2000, is designed to help Canada attract and retain research leaders in engineering and natural sciences, health sciences, humanities and social sciences.

For more details on the awards, see the U of T's Faculty of Medicine news release here.

Back to Top