​​​​Image of Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz
Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz is the 2016 recipient of the O. Harold Warwick Prize for her research achievements in cancer control. (Photo: UHN)​

Congratulations to Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz, Medical Director at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, for being named the 2016 recipient of the Canadian Cancer Society Research Institute's O. Harold Warwick Prize.

Dr. Gospodarowicz is the first Radiation Oncologist who has ever been bestowed with this honour and she now joins a list of other prominent Canadian cancer researchers who have been previous recipients of this award. Other awardees at the Princess Margaret and University Health Network include: Norman Boyd, Brenda Gallie, Ian Tannock, Frances Shepherd, and Ming Tsao.

The O. Harold Warwick Prize recognizes outstanding research achievements in cancer control and is one of the four most prestigious awards given by the Canadian Cancer Society for cancer research. This award is given annually to honour distinguished investigators who have undertaken studies in Canada that have led to significant advances in cancer control. This award comes with a $20,000 prize to support the recipient's research activities.

The O. Harold Warwick Prize is named after Dr Warwick, a pioneering researcher in cancer control and treatment, who was the first Executive Director of both the former National Cancer Institute of Canada and the Canadian Cancer Society.

To view the press release of today's announcement, click here.

Back to Top