Image of Canadian flag
The Order of Canada is one of our country’s highest civilian honours. On July 1, 2015, two UHN experts received this prestigious honour. (Photo: Google)

Congratulations to UHN recipients of the Order of Canada who were selected among 100 new appointees for their outstanding contributions to the healthcare field.

The Order of Canada, one of our country's highest civilian honours, was established in 1967 during Canada's centennial year – a three-tiered order recognizing outstanding achievement, dedication to the community and service to the nation. The three tiers of the order are: Companion, Officer and Member. Over the last 45 years, more than 6,000 people from all sectors have been invested into the Order.

Congratulations to this year's UHN Order of Canada recipients: Drs. Mary Gospodarowicz and Jay Keystone.

Image of Mary Gospodarowicz
 Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz was named an Officer of the Order of Canada on July 1, 2015. (Photo: UHN) 

Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz, Medical Director, Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

Dr. Gospodarowicz was named an Officer of the Order of Canada for contributing to improved cancer radiotherapy and for her leadership in advancing cancer care around the world.

Image of Jay Keystone
Dr. Jay Keystone was appointed as a Member of the Order of Canada on July 1, 2015. (Photo: UHN)

Dr. Jay Keystone, Senior Staff Physician, Tropical Disease Unit, Toronto General Hospital

Dr. Keystone was appointed as a Member of the Order of Canada for his contributions as a clinician and educator who has expanded the discipline of tropical and travel medicine.

Also on the Honours List are:

  • Member: Dr. James Rutka, former Chairman of the Division of Neurosurgery, University of Toronto, for his contributions to advancing treatment for pediatric brain tumours and for his international leadership in neurosurgery.
  • Member: Late Barbara Turnbull, long-time reporter at the Toronto Star, for her contributions to spinal cord injury research as an author, speaker and advocate.
  • Officer: Dr. Daniel Drucker, Senior Investigator at Mount Sinai Hospital’s Lunenfeld-Tanenbaum Research Institute, for his contributions to the development of medicines used around the world to treat diabetes and intestinal disorders.  
  • Companion: The Hon. Bob Rae, a former trustee of UHN, for his contributions to public life in Canada and for his enduring commitment to strengthening ties between Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal people in our country.​
  • Companion: Dr. Janet Rossant, former head of Research at Sick Kids, for advancing the global understanding of embryo development and stem cell biology, and for her national and international leadership in health science.​​​
Back to Top