​About the Elders Program

The Princess Margaret Elders Program was established to harness the experience of past leaders and facilitate the transfer of knowledge and wisdom from one generation to the next. Members include individuals who have made significant contributions to furthering the aims of the Princess Margaret to advance cancer care locally and globally. Members provide guidance on strategic initiatives, support partnerships, mentor young leaders, and serve as ambassadors of the Princess Margaret's vision to enable Future Care Now. Membership is by invitation.

The concept of The Princess Margaret Elders is adapted from The Elders, an independent group of global leaders established by Nelson Mandela, Graça Machel and Desmond Tutu. The Elders established a 'global village' of individuals to provide guidance on tackling world issues.

Program Contact: Nazek Abdelmutti

Meet the Princess Margaret Elders

The Princess Margaret Elders is stewarded by the Elders Council, which consists of three to five members rotating every three years. Dr. Ian Tannock serves as the inaugural Chair of the Elders Council. Other members of the Elders Council include Dr. Michael Jewett, Dr. Richard Hill, Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz (Program Medical Director), and Pamela Savage (Executive Committee Representative).

Headshot of Ian Tannock

Dr. Ian Tannock

Chair, Elders Council

Dr. Tannock is Emeritus Professor of Medicine and Medical Biophysics at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and the University of Toronto. Dr. Tannock was a member of the Board of Directors of the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) from 2001-2004. He is the recipient of the Warwick Prize from the National Cancer Institute of Canada (2003), the European Society of Medical Oncology (ESMO) award (2012), and was appointed a Member of the Order of Canada in 2013.

Headshot of Mary Gospodarowicz

Dr. Mary Gospodarowicz

Program Medical Director

Dr. Gospodarowicz is Professor at the University of Toronto, Medical Director of Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, and the Regional Vice President of Cancer Care Ontario. She is a Past President of the Union for International Cancer Control (UICC). Under the auspices of UICC and Lancet Oncology, she led the Global Task Force on Radiotherapy that produced a seminal report on "Expanding global access to radiotherapy". She received numerous awards including the Gold Medal of the American Society in Radiation Oncology and appointment as an Officer of the Order of Canada in 2015.

Headshot of Richard Hill

Dr. Richard Hill

Dr. Hill is Emeritus Senior Scientist at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre, and Emeritus Professor in the Departments of Medical Biophysics and Radiation Oncology at the University of Toronto. Dr. Hill was awarded the Robert L. Noble award by the Canadian Cancer Society for Excellence in Cancer Research, he was the Failla Award Lecturer of the Radiation Research Society, and received the HS Kaplan Distinguished Scientist Award from the International Association of Radiation Research.

Headshot of Michael Jewett

Dr. Michael Jewett

Dr. Jewett is Professor of Surgery (Urology) at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and the University of Toronto. He served as Chairman and Program Director of the Division of Urology at the University of Toronto and Head of Urology at the University Health Network. He is the founding and immediate past Chair of the Kidney Cancer Research Network of Canada and is Past President of the Canadian Urology Association. He has received multiple awards including the Canadian Urological Association Award, the American Urological Association Distinguished Service Award, the Society of Urologic Oncology Medal and the Société Internationale d'Urologie Distinguished Career Award.

Headshot of Jane Finlayson

Ms. Jane Finlayson

Ms. Finlayson was Senior Public Affairs Advisor and member of the senior management team for Princess Margaret Cancer Centre for 13 years. In that role, she provided strategic project management and communications advice and counsel to executive leadership, while managing a robust media relations program, leading science communications workshops and mentoring staff. Previously, she was Director, Strategic Initiatives and Communications at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre Foundation, managing media relations, corporate publications, and marketing communications.

Headshot of Pamela Savage

Ms. Pamela Savage

Ms. Savage is the former Director of Professional Practice at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre (2014-2019). She held the role of Nursing Lead for Toronto Central South at Cancer Care Ontario, was an Assistant Clinical Professor in the School of Nursing, Faculty of Health Sciences at McMaster University, and was previously Co-Chair of the Canadian Nurses Association Examination Committee. Ms. Savage's international experience has included oversight for Nursing and Health Professions with the University Health Network's international oncology partners in Qatar and Kuwait, and leading the Nursing Philanthropic work to build capacity in Kenya.

Headshot of Robert Bell

Dr. Robert Bell

Dr. Bell served as Deputy Minister of Health and Long-Term Care from 2014 to 2018. Prior to this role, he served as President and Chief Executive Officer of University Health Network for nine years. He was previously Chief Operating Officer at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre and Chair of both Cancer Care Ontario's Clinical Council and the Cancer Quality Council of Ontario. As an internationally recognized orthopedic surgeon, health system executive, clinician-scientist, and educator, Dr. Bell has more than 40 years of health care experience.

Headshot of Karen Maidment

Ms. Karen Maidment

Ms. Maidment is Director of TD Bank, where she serves as Chair of the Human Resource and Compensation Committee. She was named Canada's CFO of the Year in 2006 and has received numerous awards and distinctions including the Management Achievement Award from McGill University and the YWCA Woman of Distinction Award. Ms. Maidment was inducted into Canada's Most Powerful Women Hall of Fame in 2007. She serves on the Board of the Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation and is a former member of the Board of Governors of the University of Waterloo.

Headshot of Stephen Bear

Mr. Stephen Bear

Mr. Bear served as a board member of the Princess Margaret Cancer Foundation for nine years including as Chair of the Board for two years. During his 26 years at McKinsey & Company, Mr. Bear led the Firm’s practices in Korea and Canada and focused primarily on serving clients in the financial services and energy sectors. Since his retirement from McKinsey as a Senior Partner in 2013, he has served as a senior advisor on key topics and as a faculty member for various partner training programs. He also serves on the Dean’s Advisory Board for the Rotman School of Business at the University of Toronto.

Headshot of David Warr

Dr. David Warr

Dr. Warr was Associate Professor in the Department of Medicine at the University of Toronto, and past Head of Breast Cancer Medical Oncology and Solid Tumour Ward Chief at Princess Margaret Cancer Centre in Toronto, Canada where he worked from 1984 to 2020. He is Past President of the Multinational Association of Supportive Care in Cancer (MASCC) and received their Distinguished Service Award in 2017. A clinician-teacher with research interests in supportive care and antiemetics, Dr. Warr has lectured on supportive care in over 40 countries; published peer-reviewed articles on antiemetics, bisphosphonates, group support, anticoagulation, hot flashes and pain control; and has contributed to evidence-based guidelines for MASCC-ESMO and Cancer Care Ontario.

Last reviewed: 8/5/2020
Last modified: 8/6/2020 6:28 AM