Skip to Main Content
Sign in to myUHN Patient Portal

Psychologists and Psychology Staff

 

​​​​​​Department of Supportive Care – Princess Margaret Cancer Centre

Norma D'Agostino, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: norma.d'agostino@uhn.ca

  • Population: adult survivors of childhood cancer; young adult cancer survivors
  • Clinical Assessments: psychosocial functioning; distress screening
  • Clinical Intervention: individual psychotherapy
  • Research: impact of late effects of cancer and cancer treatment on psychosocial development; transition from pediatric to adult health care; quality of life

Andrew Matthew, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: andrew.matthew@uhn.ca

  • Population: urologic cancers: prostate, testicular, kidney, bladder cancer patients
  • Clinical Assessments: health psychological assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: individual psychotherapy; couple therapy; sex therapy
  • Research: health-related quality of life and survivorship in cancer patients

Gerald Devins, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: ​gdevins@uhnresearch.ca

  • Population: adults with cancer 
  • Clinical Assessments: psychosocial adaptation; trauma; marital functioning 
  • Clinical Intervention: cognitive-behavior therapy; couples therapy 
  • Research: quality of life and psychosocial impact of disease (e.g., illness intrusiveness, self-concept); psycho-educational interventions; self-management of disease; psychological measurement

Chris Lo, PhD

Email: chrislo@uhnresearch.ca

  • Population: patients with advanced cancer
  • Research: death anxiety; attachment security; psychometrics and scale development​​

Rinat Nissim, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: rinat.nissim@uhn.ca

  • Population: adults with cancer and their family members
  • Clinical Assessments: health psychological assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: individual psychotherapy; couple therapy
  • Research: processes in psychosocial oncology interventions

Kim Edelstein, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: ​kim.edelstein@uhn.ca

  • Population: brain tumour patients; adult survivors of childhood cancer; young adult cancer survivors.
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: education; recommendations/strategies
  • Research: neurocognitive outcomes in cancer survivors; late effects of cancer treatment on neurocognitive function; circadian rhythms and cancer

 

Lori Bernstein, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: lori.bernstein@uhn.ca

  • Population: adult cancer patients (outpatient) and survivors
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments
  • Clinical Interventions: patient and caregiver support & education; recommendations and self-management strategies to optimize function
  • Research: neurocognitive outcomes in cancer patients and survivors; impact of life style factors and self-management strategies on cognitive function and quality of life.

Cardiology – Toronto General Hospital

Robert Nolan, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: rnolan@uhnres.utoronto.ca

  • Population: adult patients with cardiovascular conditions
  • Clinical Assessments: psycho-physiologic tests (e.g. vagal-heart rate modulation and baroreflex sensitivity) during reactivity/recovery from mild-t​o-moderate psychological and physical stressors; cognitive-emotional adjustment to cardiovascular disease; quality of life; and lifestyle behaviours
  • Clinical Intervention: individual, group and e-health in the context of the health psychology/behavioural cardiology clinical service. Treatment modalities include cognitive-behavioural therapy, motivational interviewing, and biofeedback.
  • Research: (i) Efficacy of Behavioral Neurocardiac Training with vagal-heart rate biofeedback for patients with hypertension or chronic heart failure; (ii) cardiovascular reactivity/recovery following physical or psychological tasks; (iii) e-counseling to augment risk reduction for cardiovascular disease.

 

Transitional Pain Service, Department of Anesthesia and Pain Management – Toronto General Hospital

Aliza Weinrib, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: aliza.weinrib@uhn.ca

  • Population: adults undergoing major surgery who are at risk of complex and persistent pain
  • Clinical Assessments: risk factors for chronic pain, pain coping and functioning
  • Clinical Intervention: psychoeducation, individual psychotherapy, and group workshops
  • Research: impact of behavioural interventions on pain trajectory after surgery

 

Eating Disorder Program, Psychiatry – Toronto General Hospital

Michelle Mahan, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: michelle.mahan@uhn.ca

Traci McFarlane, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: traci.mcfarlane@uhn.ca

Marion Olmsted, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: marion.olmsted@uhn.ca

Michel A. Thibodeau, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist (supervised practice)

Email: michel.thibodeau@uhn.ca

Kathryn Trottier, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: kathryn.trottier@uhn.ca

Natalie Goldman, MA – Community Mental Health Clinician

Joanne Wong, MA – Community Mental Health Clinician

  • Population: Anorexia Nervosa, Bulimia Nervosa, EDNOS, and comorbidities including Anxiety Disorders, Mood Disorders, Substance Use Disorders, Personality Disorders
  • Clinical Assessments: clinical interviewing and diagnostic assessment
  • Clinical Intervention: intensive treatment for eating disorders including inpatient and day hospital, and a follow-up/relapse prevention program; group and individual therapy
  • Research: etiology and maintenance of EDS, treatment efficacy and effectiveness, prediction of relapse, relapse prevention

Tourette Syndrome Neurodevelopmental Clinic, Neuropsychiatry – Toronto Western Hospital

Jennifer Stanga, PhD, CPsych

Email: jennifer.stanga@uhn.ca

Jody Levenbach, PhD, CPsych

Email: Jody.levenbach@uhn.ca

  • Population: children, adolescents, & adults with Tourette syndrome and its comorbidities (e.g., OCD, ADHD, Autism Spectrum Disorders)
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments
  • Clinical Intervention: psycho-education; school consultation
  • Research: neuropsychological characteristics of individuals with TS and comorbid conditions, particularly executive functioning

 

Community Mental Health and Addictions Program – Toronto Western Hospital

Alicia Sorkin, DPsych, CPsych

Email:​ aliciaaraujo.sorkin@uhn.ca

  • Population: adult psychiatric outpatients suffering from mood and anxiety disorders, sleep and/ or substance abuse; patients suffering from stress related problems related to immigration/adaptation issues
  • Clinical Assessments: understanding underlying issues related to presenting problems and developing appropriate treatment plans
  • Clinical Intervention: short term individual and group treatments including open-ended CBT groups in English and Spanish 

Bariatric Surgery Department – Toronto Western Hospital

Sarah Royal, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: sarah.royal@uhn.ca

Susan Wnuk, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: susan.wnuk@uhn.ca

Chau Du, MSc – Psychometrist

Email: chau.du@uhn.ca

Angela Cole, MA – Psychometrist

Email: angela.cole@uhn.ca

  • Population: Pre and post bariatric surgery patients
  • Clinical Assessments: semi-structured psycho-diagnostic assessments to assess readiness for surgery
  • Clinical Interventions: a twice-monthly patient support group; mindful eating group; limited individual psychotherapy
  • Research: predictors and influencers of post-surgical outcomes and adjustment to surgery; impact of psychosocial interventions on surgical outcomes

Neuropsychology Clinic, Krembil Neuroscience Centre – Toronto Western Hospital

Melanie Cohn, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: melanie.cohn@uhn.ca

David Gold, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: david.gold@uhn.ca

Mary Pat McAndrews, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: marypat.mcandrews@uhn.ca

Marta Statucka, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: marta.statucka@uhn.ca

Yael Goldberg, PhD – Post-doctoral Fellow

Email: Yael.goldberg@uhn.ca  

Mary Jaciw – Psychometrist

Email: mary.jaciw@uhn.ca

Taisha Chang – Psychometrist

Email: taisha.chang@uhn.ca​

Rebecca Simpson – Psychometrist

Email: Rebecca.simpson@uhn.ca

Gillian Gabriel – Psychometrist (on leave)

Email: gillian.gabriel@uhn.ca

  • Population: neurology/neurosurgery outpatients, primarily in epilepsy and Parkinson's disease
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments
  • Clinical Interventions: recommendations; assessment of suitability for surgery
  • Research: impact of neurological disorders and neurosurgical/neuroradiation treatment on memory, language and executive functions; functional and structural neuroimaging in neurocognitive disorders.

Neuropsychology – Toronto Rehab - Rumsey Site

Lesley Ruttan, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: lesley.ruttan@uhn.ca

Julie Mindel – Psychometrist

Email: julie.mindel@uhn.ca

  • Population: acquired brain injury - outpatients
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments
  • Clinical Interventions: feedback to patients and family, treatment recommendations, education

Neuropsychology, Day Hospital – Toronto Rehab - University Site

Paul Comper, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: paul.comper@uhn.ca

Gary Gerber, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: gary.gerber@uhn.ca

Joan Vernon – Psychometrist

Email: joan.vernon@uhn.ca

Sigrid Grasshoff – Psychometrist

Email: sigrid.grasshoff@uhn.ca

Nathalie Brown – Behaviour Therapist

Email: nathalie.brown@uhn.ca

  • Population: acquired brain injury - outpatients
  • Clinical Assessments: neuropsychological assessments
  • Clinical Interventions: feedback to patients and family, treatment recommendations, education

Neuropsychology, Neurology Service – Toronto Rehab - University Site

Karen Wiseman, PsyD, CPsych, ABPP-CN – Psychologist

Email: karen.wiseman@uhn.ca

  • Population: Workplace head and brain injury, various etiologies; chronic pain; mood and anxiety disorders; degenerative CNS related diseases/processes; multiculturally diverse population
  • Clinical Assessments: Medical legal neuropsychological and psychological assessment and treatment planning
Dalia Slonim, PsyD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: dalia.slonim@uhn.ca

  • Population: Workplace head and brain injury, various etiologies; chronic pain; mood and anxiety disorders; degenerative CNS related diseases/processes; multiculturally diverse population
  • Clinical Assessments: Medical legal neuropsychological and psychological assessment and treatment planning

Tobi Lubinsky, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: tobi.lubinsky@uhn.ca​

  • Population: Workplace head and brain injury, various etiologies; chronic pain; mood and anxiety disorders; degenerative CNS related diseases/processes; multiculturally diverse population
  • Clinical Assessments: Medical legal neuropsychological and psychological assessment and treatment planning

Irene Chemerynsky – Psychometrist

Email: irene.chemerynsky@uhn.ca

Maria Carr – Psychometrist

Email: maria.carr@uhn.ca

Anoop Ganda – Psychometrist

Email: anoop.ganda@uhn.ca

Laura Hopf

Email: laura.hopf@uhn.ca

Glenda Kuperman

Email: glenda.kuperman@uhn.ca

Tharshini Chandra – Psychometrist

Email: tharshini.chandra@uhn.ca

Craig Healey – Psychometrist

Email: craig.healey@uhn.ca​

Neuropsychology, Complex Injury Outpatient Rehab – Toronto Rehab - University Site

Lidia Domitrovic, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: lidia.domitrovic@uhn.ca

Valery Kleiman, MA, Dipl-Psych – Psych Associate

Email:​ valery.kleiman@uhn.ca

Sabrina Lombardi, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email:​ Sabrina.lombardi@uhn.ca

Denise Milovan, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email:​ denise.milovan@uhn.ca

  • Neuropsychological and psychological assessment and treatment (i.e., cognitive behavioural therapy; patient and family supportive counselling; education; chronic pain management) to outpatient adults and older adults in a third party payer setting presenting with acquired brain injury (mild to severe), stroke, mood and other psychiatric disorders, multiple fractures and/or multiple system injuries often sustained on the job or through motor vehicle accidents.

Cardiac Rehab – Toronto Rehab - Rumsey Site

Jaan Reitav, PhD, CPsych, CBSM – Psychologist

Email: jaan.reitav@uhn.ca​

  • Population: adult patients with cardiovascular conditions, diabetes, stroke and breast cancer
  • Clinical Assessments: psychosocial functioning, comorbid psychiatric disorders, cognitive-emotional adjustment to cardiovascular disease; and lifestyle behaviours, quality of life
  • Clinical Interventions: individual and group treatment
  • Program Evaluation and Research: Efficacy of a Stress Reduction Program in improving distress among outpatients with chronic medical conditions.

Musculoskeletal Rehabilitation and Multi-System – Toronto Rehab - University Site

Gregory Hamovitch, PsyD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: greg.hamovitch@uhn.ca

  • Population: Individuals with complex physical/psychological injuries or illnesses.  This includes individuals who have a significant loss of strength, function, movement or mobility; multiple or complex fractures; complications from surgery; or multiple health issues such as arthritis, diabetes, osteoporosis and heart disease.
  • Clinical Assessments: Differential diagnosis; personality assessment; cognitive/intellectual assessment
  • Clinical Interventions: Individual and couples therapy; psychodynamic psychotherapy; cognitive behavioural therapy; supportive psychotherapy.

Spinal Cord Rehab – Toronto Rehab - Lyndhurst Site

Cheryl Bradbury, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email:​ cheryl.bradbury@uhn.ca

Monica Vermani, PsyD, CPsych – Psychologist

Email: monica.vermani@uhn.ca

Martha McKay, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist/Neuropsychologist

Email: martha.mckay@uhn.ca

  • Population: spinal cord injury patients – inpatient and outpatient
  • Clinical Assessments: clinical psychological and neuropsychological assessments
  • Clinical Interventions: behavioural medicine; cognitive behavioural intervention' supportive counseling, cognitive remediation

Research – Toronto Rehab - University Site

Robin Green, PhD, CPsych – Psychologist/Research Scientist

Email: robin.green@uhn.ca

Brenda Colella, MA, CPsych Assoc – Psychological Associate

Email: brenda.colella@uhn.ca

Lily Miguel-Jaimes – Psychometrist

Email: lillian.miguel-jaimes@uhn.ca

Greg Noack – Rehab Therapist

Email: greg.noack@uhn.ca​

  • ​Areas of Focus: Neuropsychology, Mild-Severe TBI, Sub-acute neurodegeneration post TBI, Post-recovery cognitive decline, Development of interventions to minimize decline​