Skip to Main Content
Sign in to myUHN Patient Portal
​The Canadian Concussion Centre is staffed by many of the nation's leading experts in the area of brain injury and concussion. There are 7 scientists and clinicians who represent the Centre's Principal Investigators as indicated by an asterisk (*) after their names.

Krembil Neuroscience Centre

  • Charles Tator*, OC, MD, PhD, FRCSC, Project Director, Neurosurgeon
  • J. David Cassidy, PhD, DrMedSc, Injury Epidemiologist
  • Adrian Crawley, PhD, MRI Physicist, TWH
  • Karen D. Davis, PhD, Neuroscientist
  • Mozhgan Khodadadi, MA, Clinical Research Coordinator
  • David Mikulis*, MD, FRCPC, Neuroradiologist​
  • Kieran Murphy, MB FRCPC FSIR, Professor of Radiology
  • Seyed Ali Naeimi, MD, Concussion Fellow
  • ​Chanth Seyone, MD, FRCPC, Psychiatrist
  • Apameh Tarazi, MD, Concussion Fellow
  • Carmela Tartaglia*, MD, FRCPC, Neurologist
  • Richard Wennberg*, MD, FRCPC, Neurologist

Toronto Rehabilitation Institute

  • Robin Green*, PhD, CPsych, Neuropsychologist and Canada Research Chair (Tier 2) in traumatic brain injury
  • Brenda Colella, MA, CPsych, Assoc. Neuropsychologist.
  • Angela Colantonio, PhD, Occupational Therapist and CIHR Research Chair in Gender Work and Health
  • Lesley Ruttan, PhD, CPsych, Neuropsychologist.


Hospital for Sick Children

  • Lili-Naz Hazrat*, MD, PhD, FRCPC, Neuropathologist


University Of Toronto

  • Michelle Keightley, PhD, CPsych, Neuropsychologist.

Holland Bloorview Hospital

  • Nick Reed, PhD


The Tanz Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Disease

  • Peter St George Hyslop, PhD, Director Tanz Centre for Research in Neurodegenerative Diseases

Mount Sinai Hospital

  • Elephtherios Diamandis, PhD, Clinical Biochemist

Sports Organizations

  • David Levy, MD, DOHS, DipSM, Team Doctor, Hamilton Tiger Cats
  • Leo Ezerins, Executive Director, Canadian Football League Alumni Association; 1986 Grey Cup Champion, Hamilton Tiger Cats and CFL All Star

Advisory Board to the Canadian Sports Concussion Centre

The Advisory Board provides counsel to the Research Team and leads efforts in mobilizing resources.

  • Jocelyn Allen
  • Elisabeth Atsaidis, Lawyer, Aird and Berlis
  • Fiona Berry, Winterberry Investments
  • Elvio DelZotto, Tridel Group of Companies
  • Tie Domi, Former NHL Player
  • Matt Dunigan, 1987 and 1991 Grey Cup Champion, Edmonton Eskimos and Toronto Argonauts and Member, Canadian Football Hall of Fame
  • Hon. Ken Dryden, Member of the Hockey Hall of Fame and former MP
  • Mitchell Goldhar, Smart!Centres
  • Mark Goodman, Dundee Corporation
  • Dr. Bernie Gosevitz, Brain Campaign member and Chief Medical Officer, Rogers
  • Dr. Gerry Halbert, Co-chair Brain Campaign, University Health Network and Member of the Order of Canada
  • Gary Lawrence, Founder and Managing Partner Excelsior Capital Asia
  • Steve Ludzik, former player Chicago Black Hawks and former coach Tampa Bay Lightning
  • Hon. Roy McMurtry, former Chief Justice and Attorney General of Ontario
  • Rick Moore - CEO, Richard Moore Associates
  • Marc Savard, Member of the 2010 Stanley Cup Boston Bruins
  • Dr. Hugh Scully, Professor of Surgery & Health Policy, U of T; Founder of the Ontario Race Physicians; FIA (World) Medical Commission; Inducted, Chair Canadian Motosport Hall of Fame
  • Peter Shier, Partner in Naked Creative
  • Jamie Shulman, CEO Hubdoc & lawyer
  • Jim Tomlinson, Partner, McCague Borlack LLP
  • Richard Venn, Element Financial Corporation

As of January 2017, the Project had generated almost  $5 million in donations, and in addition had received research grants from several agencies including Ontario Brain Institute, PSI Foundation, and The Weston Foundation.​

​ ​Canadian Concussion Centre